Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tv, the mob, and manly men

Another slow day. I seem to be holding by breath until these upcoming few days are over, and I find out whether or not I get the job. To distract myself, I plunged back into Diane Duane's So You Want To Be A Wizard? series, reading the first book in one big gulp. It's irritating, because the local Barnes and Noble either hasn't gotten in the newest book, or it was sold out.

Money is running short again. I just need to hold tight - hopefully T can bring some cash up with him when he visits this weekend. I hate to keep hitting him or my mom up for extra money, but it seems to dribble through my hands. Part of it was a birthday dinner that I treated myself to, and which I probably couldn't afford. But it was soooo good...at a place called Faccia Luna. They have the most awesome food, and I splurged and had a cannoli. Yummers. I actually have a recipe for them now, but apparently they're a bit cranky to make.

Watching an ep of Wiseguy - I always forget how much I love this show. There's a thread over on the x-files newsgroup about Manly Men (a tribute to the delicious Agent John Doggett,played by Robert Patrick). I should have remembered Vinnie. I do love a well-dressed man, and Vinnie always had those leather gloves, well-tailored suits, and long black coats working. De-lish. It's kind of funny to see issues brought up in this show with stuff that gets discussed on The Sopranos. I've only seen season one and scattered eps of season three, but there are interesting themes that always seem to crop up in mob movies. Whenever I get too enamored of the mob image, I go reread _Excellent Cadavers_, which is a careful examination of the mob in Sicily. It's a really good, although in some cases very dense, book.

I need to go dig my tapes of MacGyver out and watch a selected few of them. I remember a time when I was completely into the show, and couldn't imagine ever not having that wild excitement as the theme song began to play. I may not have been really social in my high school, but I had my own, very active, life unreeling up in my skull. It makes for good thinking when you're lying in bed at night.

2:32 a.m. - 2001-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce