Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lower than a snake's bellybutton

Well, don't I feel like a skunk. Actually a pretty mild term. Today, I had to inform the company I originally hired on with that I was bailing, and it did not go over well at all. Not that I figured it would all be roses and sunshine - but I did *not* expect to be told that I had just comitted a crime that marked me as a somebody truly outside the pale. I expected them to offer to send me my leper bell. According to the head guy there, nobody in 35 years of his active buisness life has *ever* done such a thing.

So, ok. I know that I did screw them over, to a certain extent - after all, they expected me to show up, and now they will have to restart their interview process. It will cost them time and advertising money. But for cripes sake, nobody has ever done this before? I cannot believe that. I spoke with people in several different fields, because I wasn't sure of the ethics of the situation, and was told that my situation was not abnormal in the least. Apparently, according to the head honcho again, my seeking out other opinions was a sure sign that I knew I was doing something underhanded, and that I obviously heard what I wanted to hear. I don't think I deserved the 20 minute lecture.

But I still feel like crap. All I can do, though, is learn from this situation. I broke all the eggs, so instead of trying to put them back together, I'm going to make the best damn omlette I can. (Bet you weren't expecting a culinary metaphor when you started reading this.) I hope this doesn't dog me - I still don't think I've comitted as serious a social crime as I'm accused of. But that could be naievete. Damn it, this is my first real-life job! (I better use that excuse up now, since it has an expiration date on it)

Met Ties for a final State College pifflefest at the Deli, and consoled myelf with pecan pie and really yummy vanilla ice cream. Also went to the used bookstore, sold them a bunch of books, and used the resulting credit to buy a bunch of books to keep me occupied.

Meeting my advisor tomorrow - hope it goes well, especially since I have no clue what I'm doing.

2:38 p.m. - 2001-07-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce