Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fireworks and swinging stewardesses

Went to a 4th of July picnic today at the home of the dept. secretary. It was a lot of fun, although it rained on and off, and we had to duck in and out of the house as the climate changed. Luckily the food got cooked and eaten before the rain really began in ernest - no vollyball was played, however.

I'm trying to decide if I want to wander in tonight to see the fireworks. I think I'll try and make it, and then wander over to Walmart for yet MORE boxes to do packing in. It seems that things are multiplying in the closets - just when I think I have some things under control, I find another hidden pocket of junk that needs to be tended to. I'm feeling like I'm in a weird limbo (well, I *am* in a weird limbo) and it's affecting my drive to get anything accomplished. Bleah.

Been reading my assorted books from the used bookstore run the other day. I polished off the Erma Bombecks (old favorites since I was a little kid) and one of the Sharon McCone mysteries that I've been hooked by. They're a really solid series by Marcia Muller, in the same female hard-boiled PI vein as the Kinsey Millhone books, by Sue Grafton (also a very good series). And, to maintain my brain-softening, I picked up a copy of _Coffee, Tea, or Me?_, which is a memoir written in the 1960's about a pair of swinging stewardesses. It really is an interesting glimpse into American culture of that era. The passages on homosexual passengers use the words "pervert" quite frequently. There's also the 60's attitude towards sex, which amounts to "If he's cute, and shows me a good time, I'm there." Lots of fun, especially the depiction of a "happening", although there were bits that were disquieting. It was another puzzle piece to fit into my understanding of the time period of many of the Travis McGee books, too.

I'm keeping this diary much more faithfully than my paper one. Should I feel guilty, or simply "with the times?"

7:41 p.m. - 2001-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce