Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Exploring offensiveness

A bit of a kerfluffle on the list again, due to a sensitive topic - weight and what it means/doesn't mean. Speaking as a person who has Issues with weight (I'm about sixty pounds overweight, perhaps more - I have a very heavy frame) I have to say that unless it's my mom talking, I don't really get too sensitive about it, unless it's blatantly mean and personalized. Somebody made a joke about greater width, and a few people were offended, but I have to admit I chuckled at the width-comment, and gave the listsib the benefit of the doubt, assuming she meant only a light-hearted comment.

It was the same way last summer - three friends and I were spending time in a town that has seen students frequently, and have learned that many of them are rude and disruptive. The fact that we were polite and unobtrusive didn't matter - many of the shopkeepers were surly, if not actively hostile. They certainly didn't smile as they gave us our change. Two of my friends were outraged by this behavior, and spent a lot of time worrying the topic. I, on the other hand, didn't even really notice the rude behavior, and didn't take it personally. When your town has seen drunken teenagers puking in your main plaza, it seems reasonable to be at least a little standoffish, even though technically it was discrimination. These two friends exerted a whole lot of mental energy on this topic that, in the end, really didn't make much of a difference.

On the other hand, I can easily be accused of being too placid for my own good. My not wanting to tackle every possible slight that comes my way could be sheer laziness, instead of some sort of "above it all" mental attitude! But I guess I'm like Mrs. Merdle - I don't like rows - and so I'm willing to cut some slack.

3:57 p.m. - 2001-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce