Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Purifies the Blood, Stimulates the Vital Functions

"May flowers like these thy Bridal grace, and I be in the Bridegroom's place."

Just got a chance to leaf through a scrapbook filled with Victorian-era cards, quilt-patterns, and other fascinating scraps. Most of the cards are pictured with truly sacchrine designs - spaniels with melting brown eyes, dimpled and chubby-cheeked little children, and strange arrangments of flowers with advertising, New Years Day wishes, Valentine's Day messages, and the like printed all over them.

"Ayers Sarsaparilla: Purifies the Blood, Stimulates the Vital Functions, restores and preserves Health and infuses New Life and Vigor throughout the Whole System."

Those capitals are EMPHATIC, aren't they?

I never was very fascinated with the Victorians - it's so easy to laugh at their repressions and their strange personalized commercialization of things - but then I forget from time to time that the Victorian era coincides exactly with the American Civil War, which I am very interested in. I think I need to broaden my scope of knowledge. But god, we've got loads of their ceramics here, and they're horrible, simpering things. *shudder*

"Though this heart but pasteboard be, There beats a warmer one for thee."

"The Bloom of Health again rests on the cheeks of our darling, thanks to Parker's Tonic."

I wonder if they still sell Parker's Tonic or Ayers Sarsaparilla. Or maybe I should just go out and get a root beer or eat one of my horehound candies that I bought for my sister, who was curious about the "Laura Ingalls Wilder" candy.

I am so freaking happy it's Friday, even though this week has gone past very quickly. Next week will be an even busier one, capped off by the Expedition Back To State College To Fetch Our Things. (help! The Victorians have corrupted my typing!)

1:54 p.m. - 2001-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce