Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adventures in quilting

Today I hung two quilts (a whitework one and a pink and green and white one in a motif of tumbling squares), and packed away five in little acid-free boxes, tucking them into acid-free paper which will turn brown in about six months from all the acid leaching out of the quilts. One of them dated back to 1819, and was so fragile. I could hear the threads creak when I lifted it onto the table to work with. By the way, quilts are a bitch to work with - they're potentially very fragile, but they're also big and unwieldy. I had to borrow one of the interns to help me out so I wouldn't treat them too roughly.

Nothing in particular scheduled for tomorrow, but after work, I'll be hanging out with my two good buds. We always have such good discussions and arguments and philosophical forums. A is having problems with her boyfriend - he's a sweet guy, but so passive as to be almost comatose. She, on the other hand, is a very active, fast-talking, fast-thinking person who is beginning to get tired of doing all the work in the relationship. I'm sorry that it's not working out, since she was so thrilled at the beginning of the relationship, but speaking as somebody in a marriage with a huge amount of communication between the partners, I couldn't *cope* with somebody who didn't tell me anything about anything.

Reread _Guilty Pleasures_ by Laurell K. Hamilton on my rides in and out of work this week. I miss the early books in this series...the sex-quotient has increased almost past my tolerance level, and the mystery/detective parts of the storyline have fallen by the wayside. I'm sorry to say that LKH is a great "idea" person, but is having problems keeping up the good writing and plotting that a continuing series requires. Still, the books are addictive, and good fun. I'll probably keep reading them, or at least until they totally piss me off.

9:27 p.m. - 2001-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce