Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rain in the City

I think I might be growing to love this city - at least this part of it (northwest) which is, truly, where the cool monuments and buisnesses are (except for Georgetown, the trendy bar/boutique district). Every day, I walk past some really cool beaux-arts buildings, including one by the White House, which looks like a cross between a Roman temple, a Georgian manor house, and a Hindu temple. It's finally decided to storm. The sky was sunny, and then a wave of darkness moved accross it, accompanied by slashes of lightning and huge, booming rolls of thunder. Then, rain...a hard, pelting one that looked almost fake, like a Hollywood movie special effect. For a few moments, I stood under it and saw it falling on me, but I wasn't really getting damp; then the wind changed and I had to put up my bitty little umbrella and run back to the office, past the black lions that guard the Corcoran Gallery. I love the way things look in the rain. The marble steps of the entrance I went in by were so beautiful, all grey and speckled and gleaming. So here I am again, behind my computer, damp and slightly out of breath.

Never thought I really liked cities much.

2:46 p.m. - 2001-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce