Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

booksbooksbooks

Realized I hadn't made an entry in several days, so I'll throw one out here - although there's not too much to talk about, really! Last weekend was very relaxing; we didn't have any emergency trips to Pennsylvania, or occasions to unload moving vans. Consequently, we slept. A lot.

I did make a very exciting raid on the local public library, where I discovered I had a twenty dollar fine leftover from 1998. They accepted five bucks from me, and then eliminated the rest of the fine, since it had been so long. Very charitable of them, I say.

I checked out:

The Devil in Music, and The Broken Vessel, by Kate Ross (good books, and it's a pity the author has died so there will be no more)

Midnight in Sicily: On Art, Food, History, Travel, and La Cosa Nostra, by Peter Robb

Desiring Italy, a compilation of various authors on Italy

Horse Heaven, by Jane Smiley

A Thief of Time, by Terry Pratchett

Galveston, by Sean Stewart

and a couple more whose titles I can't remember, including one on the London Monster, who ran around poking people with sharp implements in the rump and the nose and other delicate areas. It's one of those books that explores the social climate, psycology, and the uproar of the times, and discussed whether or not the person they arrested for the crimes actually did it, or if there was really a Monster at all.

Must go eat...no breakfast this morning except a popsicle (they wake my mouth up!) and my stomach is talking to me.

11:50 a.m. - 2001-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce