Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*snork*

Things haven't been busy, per say, but I've been neglecting this diary a trifle. Work goes well, although we're still out in the hallway - everything that could go wrong with our new furniture being installed has gone wrong. The big arrrgh right now is that our office (mine, and the two other people in it) is technically very close to being finished, but we can't move back in until the big office is done, and that'll be another couple of weeks. It SUCKS to be out in the hallway, having to move forward everytime somebody comes to get water out of the cooler, or has to walk past with a cart or a sheaf of paintings or something.

I was pondering my attraction to Washington DC somemore (the long commute in the back of somebody's car leaves you lots of time to muse). I think a part of it all is the fact that you're crossing water to get in. If you go over Memorial Bridge, you go between these two huge statues of a horse and figures on/around it, and that just adds to the pagentry. Something about entering a new place over water just feels momentous to me. It may figure in to why I like Rome and Venice and Florence so much. Then again, I may like Washington because it vaguely recalls Rome in the fountains and buildings and memorials all stuck through it like rasins in an oatmeal cookie.

Still studying for slide comps, and getting more panicked. I honestly haven't been doing well at remembering things, and I'm scared that I'll be able to ID everything correctly but not be able to *say* anything about why the piece is important. Which is, needless to say, a really big chunk of the test. I don't want to get to the point where I am tempted not to finish up my masters work, because I've busted my butt to get this far, and it better not be all for naught.

Not much else I can think of that needs sayin' right now, except the weather has been sumptuous. Just the way I like it. But my nagging cough has been getting worse, so I finally made a dr's appt. for it. It's just allergies that have triggered a sinus infection that has settled in my chest. Unfortunatly, it happens frequently. I demand my FloNase!

5:51 p.m. - 2001-09-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce