Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frolicking at Faire

Went to the Maryland Ren. Faire this Sunday, as I tend to do at least once every year. I love the place, although I generally end up lusting after expensive items that I technically don't need, but pant after. This time it was a lovely little dagger with a damasced blade. Sharp little thing, it was, and perfect for a bodice. I have an Italian ren. gown that I wear for these events, with a black velvet skirt and a burgendy brocade bodice. It's the only really nice piece of Faire/SCA clothing I have, as my houppelande is more fantasy than anything else, with its weird button-up-the-front arrangement, and my bad attempt to put velvet cuffs on the sleeve opening.

I ended up buying only a pair of hairsticks, little pink glass cubes with black "studs" on them - they're prettier than that description makes them sound! I also saw some dichroic glass beads on several, which of course made me think of Dichroic. They were beautiful, but outside my imposed price range, as they also had danglies and other doo-dads that made the price higher.

T and I ended up spending most of our time in one of the less populated inns, watching scottish dancing (a very good troupe of three girls and a harpist and a fiddler. One of the dancers also played the doumbeck.) It was nice not to be rushing around, and the Faire itself is an awesome place to people-watch. It seems that my favorite mask-maker has unfortunatly gone in a direction that I don't really like in her/his designs, so I'm glad I bought the masks I did when I did, before the changes set in. And although I love and collect Green Men, it's a little odd to see that the majority of the masks at that shop and at one other have now almost completely gone over to Green Men/Foliate Face designs. I'm not sure if I'm just upset at the fact that there aren't many other designs to look through, or if I'm upset that my little collection is just too popular now, and everybody else will be wanting one. Bah, I say.

This emotional weight from Sept 11 keeps striking me at odd moments. I started humming "Columbia, the Gem of the Ocean" to myself, and ended up in tears.

3:29 p.m. - 2001-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce