Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jambalaya

Made the mistake of reading some newsmagazines about the whole ongoing situation, and ended up with knots in my stomach. I have big doubts about whether anything we do can truly help with this problem, which goes pretty deep into Arab ideas of what America is all about. We can try all we like to be fair and balanced in the issue of Israel and Palestine, but if the average man on the street in any of the Arabic countries which sponsor terrorism still cling to the idea that America is biased, then we might as well not even bother, for all the change it'll effect. (phew. That was an ugly sentence, and probably one that didn't make much sense) And I'm sure there is already a bias against the Palestinian side from the average American, since Israel has never attacked our embassies or bombed our ships or killed athletes at Olympic Games.

I feel like I *should* bury my head in the sand, because I can't do anything that'll impact the world at large, and all I do is get agitated. I have my big comps slide test to take this Friday, so I need all my emotional energy for that.

Natalie, Caerula, sorry, but JD Robb has done nothing for me, at least not after the first couple of books. I had to struggle to get through them and felt no desire to continue reading. My potato chip books are the Anita Blakes, but it looks like the newest one may be too poopy even for mindless fun. I will have to check it out of the library, and it looks like I won't even pay a reduced paperback price for it. The reviews I've seen so far have made me ill. On the other hand, it has sparked an interesting discussion on my LKH list about authors and what they do and don't owe to their fans...an interesting parallel with what's happening on my primary list, which is, sad to say, much uglier in tone. When an author is tampering with much-beloved characters, they've got to be prepared to face a lot of heat from longtime fans, especially if the characters aren't their own. I was especially aggravated to see somebody on the List doing the unmentionable - offering a boot-scraping apology on behalf of somebody else, when that somebody else doesn't feel that there was anything in particular to apologise for. Grrrr.

In other news, our landlady has continued to pull up every carpet in the house, and paint the floor green. Which works really well since there are a lot of animals in the house (Her three cats, my cat, and her dog, plus occasional visits from my mom's two dogs and her mom's dog) but it really makes the floors cold.

1:41 p.m. - 2001-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce