Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Music Over My Head

Went to the King's X concert last night with T, mostly to get my mind off of the whole failing slides thing. The show was rocking - the local opener was a band called The Michael Shepherd Group, who are just awesome. T knows the Michael of the band, and I got a chance to meet him last night as well. He is possibly one of the nicest people I have ever met, which is heartening to see in a person with so much talent and in the entertainment industry - there seem to be so many talented assholes out there. The next band, Moke, was a group from South London, as they put it, (does coming from South London mean you're different from people from North London?) and were excellent as well, to the point where I'm interested in picking up their album. The last group to open for King's X was Podunk, and they scored a major hit with their single "Dashboard Mary," so I wish Moke similar success.

But then, nothing can really top King's X in concert. I have only seen them once before, when I wasn't really a fan yet, and not too interested, but now I'm a lot more into them and was able to really get excited. They're a power trio, so it's only Doug, with the bass and voice, Ty, with the guitar and some singing, and Jerry, with the drums and singing as well. They do such awesome harmony work, and there are literally few people out as talented as this group. Unfortunatly, aside from a brief spurt in the eighties when Over My Head and It's Love were hits, the band is unnoticed by the world at large....they're one of those groups that other, bigger-name people cite as major influences, but don't seem to be able to break into the big time on their own. The most recent mention was a VH1 appearence in Top 100 Heavy Music Bands, or some title like that. Doesn't matter, I suppose...they have a hard-core fanbase and are on a smaller label, and so maybe they have more freedom in their music, instead of having to deal with a label telling them what kind of music they need to put out.

I really love music and its power to elicit emotion. I can't understand people who are unmoved by a really creamy, sweet guitar tone, or a fabulous voice, or a perfect, tasteful little drum fill. I get goosebumps when it happens, and the effect is even more potent when it happens live. This from a person who is only proficent at playing the radio. (Ok, I can play three basslines, but that's about it) King's X is sometimes considered a musician's band - as in you have to know music to understand their talent - but I don't think that's true. I think it's simply a matter of being exposed to them and having the ability to appreciate complex musical work. You don't have to know how to replicate that music to love it.

Enough babbling. I always want to try and discuss Deep Thoughts in this journal, and I usually discover that all I'm doing is trotting out old cliches about said Thoughts. Bah humbug.

3:50 p.m. - 2001-10-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce