Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Princess Grace takes up residence

I promised to mention our newest member of the family, so I shall.

The other day, T was picking me up at the local KFC, where I was waiting

for him after work. We strolled out, and behind the door, spotted a tiny

little pale grey tortie cat, all balled up. She didn't seem at all worried

that we were staring at her, and T reached down and picked her up. She

nestled into his arms, and started purring. Love at first cuddle. So T,

my roommate Z, and I made flyers about her, canvassed the local vet offices,

and I spent 115 dollars that I really don't have to get her up to date on

her shots, and what-not. It's looking like she doesn't have any owner at

all, so now she's ours. Due to her regal bearing, her insistence on sitting

on a pillow by the window and having her admirers come to her instead of vice

versa, and her lovely pale green eyes, we have dubbed her Princess Grace. She

absolutely despises the other cats in the house, but seems rather indifferent

to the dog, unless it deigns to get Too Close, in which case the dog gets

a swat accross the nose. Her tail is the only thing odd about her - it's

truncated, and she can't flip and flap it like other cats do. She had gotten

some litter stuck in it, and I was cleaning it out, and she seemed entirely

oblivious, which made us believe that maybe she doesn't have any sensation in it.

Had a long weekend, on account of Veterans Day, so T and I took advantage of it by finally driving up to Penn State to fetch our other car, which has been in the shop there for about...oh, I don't know...four months? Something like that, anyway. The mechanic has been an absolute angel about the whole thing, and is letting us pay for the repairs in installments. (800 bucks, grrrr) I also finally got the chance to look over my now-graded slide exam, and see where I went wrong. One of the big things to cost me was a tactical error - I assumed that an exact

date wouldn't be as necessary as good information, and that proved very wrong in the case of a few slides. In fact, it might have gotten me a passing grade.

However, the dept. head seemed to understand that I really was having a Bad Brain Day, and that I wasn't entirely lacking in mental capacity. So I kick myself, and move on.

It was excellent to be hanging around the department, especially since I startled my friend J into doing a little twirl in the hallway to see if I was just a hallucination.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to spend too long there, but I did get in a good long yak with my mentor, the registrar I worked for. It was awesome to see her and talk with her(I felt so fucking professional! Hah, when will I grow up?) At any rate, I had a good, though exhausting, time. That drive, although it's only four hours, can be a pain.

4:00 p.m. - 2001-11-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce