Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Analyse This

I decided to make the jaunt up to State College, because another Interlibrary Loan book came in. This way, I can feel productive. I'm going to take Wed. and Thurs. off, I think, and hopefully I've convinced my mom to let my little sis go, to share the driving. Plus I really want to show her the place.

Went to the library to pick up a reserved book they were holding for me, and ended up walking off with seven more. Hold me back, I'm dangerous with a library card!

Rented the first two DVD's of Season II of the Sopranos, and am enjoying them immensely. I'm sure essays could be written on why Tony Soprano, a big man with a big gut, who is balding and not exactly a cultured guy, is such a sex symbol these days. It's the aura he gives off onscreen - a powerful man who usually gets what he wants. Plus, the show is very skillful about showing his insecurities, so you see both the power and the neediness. Probably an irrestible combination to many women. Me, I like it, but only as a fantasy-type thing. I'm sure that in real life, I'd be disturbed not just by the violence of mob life, but by the vast unfairness of it all. The big fish takes from the little fish, again and again and again. Which is perhaps why I'm more disturbed by the character of Christopher Moltisanti, who is a little weasel out to get whatever he can, than Tony, who has already passed through that phase of life, and doesn't have to get his hands dirty anymore.

Tune into this spot for more indepth TV show analyses. Next week: MacGyver, and why the earlier episodes where he was blowing more stuff up and getting more women are better than the touchy-feely later episodes. Richard Dean Anderson...mmmmmm....

9:21 a.m. - 2001-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce