Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big red circus panties!

I am not wearing attractive underwear today. They were a gift from my mom last Christmas, when she was suffering under the delusion that I am about five times bigger than I actually am. Swear to god, I can hike these suckers up over my boobs and get them completely covered. Of course, whenever I do that it scares my husband into fits. (Maybe that's why I do it.) Today's undies are fire-engine red granny cut, and most unattractive, but that's what you get when you dress in the dark.

I'm also debating the skirt I'm wearing. It's an attractive skirt in and of itself, but I don't like the way it feels when I'm actually wearing it. I wonder if I'm passing out of the brief stage where I cared what I looked like, and back into the realm of "If it's comfortable, then it looks good enough." Of course, I looked darn good on Tuesday in my creamy roll-neck sweater and fawn suede skirt, but I need elegant boots to go with it. Hush Puppies may be able to assist. And I've come to the conclusion that I have to many tops, and not enough pants. Must go to Lane Bryant and pick up some bitchin' cool sleek black pants.

The biggest problem with dressing myself is that I have extra wide feet, and finding cute shoes to go with a cute outfit is very difficult. I don't know how my little sister manages it, except for the fact that I think mom is constantly scouting for her, but she's got a decent assemblage of shoes that look good. Maybe it's the fact that she's got youth on her side, too - there's a point where youth, elan, and a close enough match will combine into a good looking outfit. I never learned true elan, which is probably why I never got my ass pinched in Italy. (Although I did have an elderly guard in the Vatican smooch me, and a balding waiter tell me to come with him to the discoteca, and never mind my grubby T-shirt, I could just take it off. Apparently bras are haute coture in your average Italian disco. Since my bras are just a few notches up from the Erma Bombeck safety pin model, he would have been sorely disappointed.)

I think I want to eat my lunch now. It's a delicious Five Guys burger, which I will defend to the death as the bestest burgers in the world.

1:36 p.m. - 2002-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce