Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Swiss Miss is my personal savior

Trying to work with a head that feels like it's had cement poured in it. I think I've passed over the boundary of getting sick to actually sick. Lots of hot chocolate is helping soothe my throat, but unless I get an eyedropper and shoot it up my nose, it's not going to do a lot for clogged sinuses.

Spent some of last night doing flashcards of artworks. I really suck at remembering dates. I mean that. I'm putting things in the wrong decade, sometimes. I'm such a bad art historian. Somebody come spank me, I'll submit meekly. I said Giotto painted the Arena Chapel frescos in 1380, and they were done in 1310. I couldn't remember Mary Cassat's name. I identified the Belvedere Torso (third century bc) as one of Michelangelo's unfinished Slaves (1520) Ok, that was a reasonable mistake, the picture on the flashcard was the size of a postage stamp. But still. I need to be flogged.

Have to miss out on the State College gathering, but I'll try and go up next month with Em in tow. Since I'm not going, however, I get to take Bemo to a B.B. King concert, which I got comp tickets to. Schweet, huh? I'm very excited. And King's X is coming back to a nearby club in February, so we'll probably go see them again, as well. I love seeing them in concert, it's like being in the middle of a hurricane.

Then, on Monday, I'll take Boop to see LOTR, so I can drool over Sean Bean again. I realized that I really hated Boromir in the books - well, not hated him, exactly, but he certainly came off as the lesser of the two sons. Better with the sword, perhaps, but more hasty and less thoughtful and intellegent than his younger brother. It's actually a pretty big theme in Return of the King. So I'm hoping the guy who plays Faramir can do justice to one of my favorite sub-stories, which is Faramir and Eowyn hooking up. But Sean Bean instilled the role with a lot more humanity and understanding than the books did, simply with a few extra lines and expressions.

Hmm. Probably boring everybody to tears with the extended LOTR commentary. I'll try to stop with that.

Mmm. Hot chocolate. And for lunch, Easy Cheeseburger Pie. And they say I can't cook! Hah!

11:43 a.m. - 2002-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce