Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Perhaps even love laughs at these shared tears...

Good god, all you "Ding Fries are Done" people, I just used it as a whimsical diary entry title! I don't have the song printed! It's sung by Brak from the Space Ghost Coast to Coast show, go steal it from AIMster or something! Jeez-o-Pete!

Ahem. Not that I mind the extra hits on the page, but I feel you're not appreciating me for myself, just for my random reference to a very funny song. Although I will say that Brak singing Bob Dylan parodies was funnier (Everbody must get...rocks and pebbles...thrown at them....). Aside from that and the perennial "Sexxxxx" and "Diaryland Blowjob" google hits, I've been bone dry.

Here, have a little culture, for god's sake.

Mantegna painted the ceiling of the Camera degli Sposi in Mantua's Ducal palace in 1475. It's an illusionistic occulus surrounded with animals and cute, chubby putti holding garlands, and if you get a really good reproduction of the ceiling, you can see that one of the babies is peeing on you.

Titian painted the Venus of Urbino in 1538. It depicts a langorous, beautiful woman, a sleeping lapdog, and servants in the background putting clothes away. It may represent a Venetian courtisan, the lifestyle of which you should go see in the movie _Dangerous Beauty_ with Rufus Sewell and Catherine McCormac. The movie's based on the real courtesan Veronica Franco, although it's been altered a bunch. Or you could go read Veronica Franco's poetry without resorting to the intervention of Hollywood. Depends on how you're feeling at the moment.

Here's a brief snippet of her poetry as an appetiser:

[From Capitolo 8, to a man who loves her while she loves another, with equally little reward:]

Perhaps Love even laughs at these shared tears
and, to make the world weep even more,
divides and sunders yet another's desire;
and, while he makes merry over this,
the wide sea of all our tears
darkens and deepens further still:
for if man could love to his heart's content,
without confronting contrary desires,
the pleasure of love would have no equal.

And if destiny had laid down the law
that in supreme delight, earthly good
may not attain the bliss of heaven,
my woe is all the greater as my habit is
to fall in love, and to feel, through loving,
this beloved mismatch in love.
However much I reflect on myself,
I see that fortune leads me wherever
life follows an always troubled path;... [ll.76-93; p.103]

Nataleeeeeee, thanks for reccomending The Eyre Affair. I'm loving it bunches.

12:44 p.m. - 2002-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce