Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Backing away from the edge, very slowly

Many thanks for all the comforting guestbook entries, and the couple of private emails. Y'all could have pelted me with tomatoes, but instead you pelted me with love, and it made me feel wonderfully better. The shortness of breath has eased, a bit, and I resolved to relax and just spend some time with Bemo and not fret myself.

I spent today getting myself into a better frame of mind - Bemo and I went driving through a particularly lovely area of Virginia, and enjoyed the fabulous weather that came on the heels of two chillier days. Decided to skip the nightclub tonight, as that was really not the kind of stimulation I needed, so I'm pottering around happily here at home, burning a King's X mix cd for Boop, and an Italian pop cd for Nataleeeeeeee. Anybody else who wants Italian pop, let me know - I'll nuke a couple more copies. Now, don't everybody raise your hands at once!

I'm also reading superior Harry Potter fanfic (by the same person who wrote the Very Secret Fellowship of the Rings Diaries - hysterically funny stuff). The author, Cassandra Claire, writes very well, although sometimes she strays out of character for the cheap joke, and occasionally her desire for a snarky line tones down the mood of the scene she's writing. But she does snark very well, and she has that rare knack of writing the characters very much as I see them in my head. You can find her stuff on www.schnoogle.com.

Made stir-fry beef and rice today, was yummy. Also found a cache of books that I had thought were lost forever, so that made me happy - some art history books, some Terry Pratchett, and an odd collection of historical stuff - Seneca , the Lays of Marie de France, and early Christian writers, and the Gesta Romanorum, and the three volume work on the Crusades by whoosisface that I love but haven't read all the way through yet. Also found the very funny _Motel of the Mysteries_, set in the year 4035, when an archeologist is uncovering the sacred burial site of the Motel Toot'n'Come'on, and is learning lots of valuable stuff about 20th century ritualistic behavior.

So now I have to find more shelf space. Cue sitcom laughter - my shelves are stuffed full already. I need some form of Book AA.

I'll start working at therapy riding next weekend - will report on that after it happens. Boop is apparently loving it. I'm one of the semi-experienced horse people, so I'll be helping out with the tacking up and leading, as opposed to being a side walker. I feel pretty good about finally taking on an honest to goodness volunteer job - it'll be something I love, and good not just for the kids I'll be working with, but for myself. At the very least, it'll get me out of the house and off my duff.

8:50 p.m. - 2002-03-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce