Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No thank you, Mr. Toby Jug

Second entry of the day, and this is a small one only. I was wondering about the expression "needs must when the devil drives," because I'm rather fond of it. Here's what Brewer has to say about it:

E. Cobham Brewer 1810�1897. Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. 1898.

Needs must when the Devil Drives.

The French say: �Il faut marcher quand le diable est aux trousses;� and the Italians say: �Bisogna andare, quando il diavolo � vella coda.�

�He must needs go that the Devil drives.� Shakespeare: All�s Well That-Ends Well, i. 3.

I have also decided that while Toby jugs have a certain charm, I would never collect them, and definitely never with the passion that true Toby Jug-gist afficianados have. I have two sitting on my desk right now, and they just don't make me say "ooh." But then, there are lots of things I wouldn't care to collect.

3:10 p.m. - 2002-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce