Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Odds and ends

I have lunch duty in the gift shop today, so I'm sitting down here watching people browse and then drift out the door without purchasing anything. I will probably need to buy a postcard for the social studies class, whose red and black zebra I currently have. They're tracking its travels, rather like the traveling garden gnomes that you sometimes hear about. I'll probably take a photo of him outside the White House, and in front of the Washington Monument, and if I feel really motivated, I'll walk down to the Tidal Basin and snap a pic with some cherry blossoms.

Been having fun on this website:Epicurious.

This week vaporised by me in a *pouf* of smoke. It's already Thursday, and I'm still somewhere around a Tuesday, mentally.

After all the Stephen Saylor "Roma sub Rosa" books I've been reading, I had the yen to go read some more Colleen McCullough books on Rome. They're huge tomes with excruciating detail, and sometimes I read avidly, and sometimes I skip pages. Right now I'm reading _Fortune's Favorites_, which deals with the last days of Sulla, and the rise of the careers of Pompey and Julius Caesar. The cover is deceptively romance-novel-ish, but the research McCullough did is pretty formidible. The only thing in the books that I can't abide are the horrible "portraits" of the characters, which she took from busts, and which look like strange, alien creatures, big eyes and all.

In other news, one of our doctoral candidates in Art History just was awarded the Fulbright, and will be studying in Germany next year. Go her!

12:01 p.m. - 2002-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce