Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Latin, hot chocolate, and love to my peeps

"Do not mistake absence of drama for lack of passion." Mechaieh, do you mind if I have that tattooed across my forehead? It would make life so much easier for me.

And Mistress Sinister pointed out that it was in her excellent diary that I came on the They Fight Crime! link, so pay her proper worship, ok? She is the Mistress, after all.

I am wearing a white shirt and baggy green overalls. The only thing missing is a big bowery boy's hat to complete the 1940's paperboy hawking hot off the press Gotham Daily newspapers with headlines like "Arch-Criminal Threatens Fort Knox!" look.

Did you understand that last sentence? I hope so. Go back and read it again if you have to.

I have a cd case full of the little silver beauties, but I can't think of exactly what I want to play. Ultimate New Wave Eighties music? Jimmy Buffett's "Fruitcakes?" King's X's "Manic Moonlight?" Cake? The Tallis Scholars? Bon Jovi or Paul Simon, Spin Doctors or Matthew Sweet? *pant, pant*

Ok. I'm going with the Strictly Ballroom soundtrack. A life lived in fear is a life half lived! Ooh, that also reminds me that I need to pick up the Moulin Rouge soundtrack as well.

I am ashamed to announce that my usual breakfast of oatmeal has been temporarily replaced by cookies. I know, I'm going to hell for this, but cookies dunked in hot chocolate is a taste sensation I just can't pass up right now. Mmmm. I have to exercise restraint and not eat so many of them that I feel bloated and lodgy the rest of the day.

The cherry blossoms are just gorgeous. It's the first year that I've really been able to see them, and they're blooming all around the Tidal Basin in various, utterly delicate shades of pink, like big sunset clouds hovering near the water. The combination of the glittering water, the flowers, and the stark white of the Jefferson Memorial really makes an arresting visual, and I get to see them every evening on my way home.

I feel like a little Latin today, for no good reason except that I'm on a Roman reading jag. Boop, you've taken Latin, so no peeking at the translations!

Difficile est longum subito deponere amorem (Catullus)

It is difficult to suddenly give up a long love. (Subito has the same meaning in Italian today, "immedieatly, suddenly.")

Assiduus usus uni rei deditus et ingenium et artem saepe vincit (Cicero)

Constant practice devoted to one subject often outdoes both intellegence and skill.

And, for all the poets out there:

Aut insanit homo, aut versus facit (Horace)

The fellow is either mad, or he is composing verses.

There are bunches of them here.

Oh, and here's something else:


You are Carl Sandburg
You see the world in a different way than your peers and are able to find beauty in the most unusual places!

You are Robert Frost
You've had your fair share of acclaim and criticism. You have the desire to share your thoughts and knowledge with others. You view life as a challenge that you are prepared for! Nature inspires you.

You are Maya Angelou
You have a strong sense of self and have faith in your abilities. You are an optimist and believe that things can get better if people work together. You also have faith in humanity.



Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!


Take any streetful of people buying clothes and groceries, cheering a hero or throwing confetti and blowing tin horns ... tell me if the lovers are losers ... tell me if any get more than the lovers ... in the dust ... in the cool tombs" -Sandburg

8:48 a.m. - 2002-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce