Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drugged kitties, illicit girlscouting, and the bliss of thin mints

I came across an artist named Marilyn Pappas, who I thought some of you out there might be interested in. She looks at Greek and Roman statuary, and does versions of them stitched very densely on linen. They're really quite beautiful. You can see her work here and here.

Gracie-cat came home with me last night. She's all drugged up on kitty pain meds, since they had to drill into the jawbone to remove the tooth she had cracked off. So, basically, she is curled up semi-permanently in her pink cat bed, with a blissed-out, slightly glazed expression on her face. Occasionally she makes a trip to eat or use the potty box, but other than that, she's staying put. I should have such a life.

Cherbear is heading to DC this afternoon to meet me, and we'll head off and look at the cherry blossoms. I am becomning such an enthusiast for the city - well, honestly, the parts of it I see on a regular basis, which are the pretty parts.

I bought Girl Scout Thin Mints yesterday. They'll be popped into the freezer and eaten cold. Nummy. I was only a girlscout for a brief time - I moved from a fun troop here in the US to one in Singapore that never went camping and wanted us to sew all the time. My interest in sewing was, at that point, measured in negative numbers, and I quit the troop once it became obvious that I'd never have any use for my Swiss Army Knife except to snip threads. While I was in the US, I had a ball camping, going to festivals, and earning tons of badges through...erm...shall we say, less than entirely legit ways. Not to say I cheated, really, but I definitely fudged on some of the requirements. I was doing it with a friend, and we tied for most number of badges earned that year, since we were really the only two in our troop motivated to go on a badge aquisition rampage. Ah, youth!

10:02 a.m. - 2002-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce