Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sing me a song, though I'm not a piano anything

Do you have a song? A song from your wedding, your courtship, your breakup, your makeup, your graduation, the first day at a new job...a song that, whenever you hear it, puts you back in that moment. Bemo has songs that remind him of particular summers in high school. Then there is "our" song - actually one of several. "When I'm 64" by the Beatles is one of them, as it was one of the first songs he put on the first dub tape he ever made for me, and because it was part of the joke between us since he's eleven years older than I am. Seal's "Kiss by a Rose" was a song that we tried to make ours - while it is, sort of, it didn't "take" as much as the other song, King's X's "Goldilox."

I can't believe summer's almost here
I made it through another year even if alone
but there's no tears in my eyes life is still full of surprise
I'm not looking for a one night stand


Not typical lyrics for a love song - but he was alone, and not looking for a one night stand anymore (being rather sick of those at this point in his life)

I stand behind you and I watch you from a mile away
wishing you could be the one but not here this way
I'd like to know your name and I must know who you are Yeah


It took us a year before we found out we were right for each other. Had Bemo kissed me (and I must relate the story of the Kiss That Never Happened, which occured in the elevator of the science building at George Mason University) early on in our friendship, things would probably not have progressed as they have now. We needed that time - we needed it to be a different time, a different way.

I look at you and I know who you are

Well, maybe there are lyrics here that make it a true love song. How much more could a person ask of their beloved?

you're just a little bit too far from my home
but please don't get me wrong
even though it has been long I hope I never sing my last song without someone
I stand behind you and I watch you from a mile away...


So. A non-typical love song for a non-typical couple. And it sparked a fanship of the group King's X once I figured out that most of their albums were awesome, both lyrically and musically. It would have been embarassing if "our" song had been by some fly-by-night one hit wonder, after all. Music is a passion of mine, despite not being able to play anything more sophisticated than the radio (well, ok - I can play the bassline to a few songs, including Hotel California). I cry fairly easily, and frequently music moves me to tears. Well, ok - I cry so easily that a skillfully heart-tugging commercial can make me cry. And I cry all the time at books, and even if I'm trying to retell a particularly moving part of a book. I guess I'm just a big wuss. Move over, Moaning Myrtle - here comes Gushy Genibee!

10:41 p.m. - 2002-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce