Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just wait until I start working on Sundays. Phew.

My Saturdays are getting more and more packed full of things to do.

I cut my normal shift at the grooming salon short, because I had offered to sub for our usual girl scout program coordinator to run a folk-arts program at my regular job. Everybody was out for Easter, so it was pretty much me or nobody. The craft project was clothespin dolls, which are pretty simple to put together. I have to admit, it was adorable watching six little fourth graders put big smiling faces on their dolls, and carefully select which ribbon would go the best with the fabric their doll's dress was made from. Of course, by the end of the session, the dolls were already being clacked against each other ("They're *dancing!*") and I could see that the metro ride home would probably be full of dolls being flung back and forth between the seats. Hope nobody got brained.

That night, I went out with Persia and Cherbear to a bar in Old Town Fairfax. It's a weird hybrid of Australia and Ireland called Ned Kelly's and Ned Devine's. The interior seemed mostly Irish, however, and we were tucked into a nice side room with a fireplace, Irish quotes on the wall, and lots of photographs. I know it's all faux to the max, but that's the closest I'm going to get to Dublin any time soon, so whatever works. Live music (eighties cover band) and really good drinks were to be had. I had a chocolate martini -mmmmm- and Cher had an appletini - each was less than five bucks, which is unbelievable in this town. We shook our rumps to the funk and basically had a blast. And despite my nervousness, my wrap-blouse did not unravel and cause me to flash my splendiferous tiger-striped bra-covered bitties to the entire bar. Thank god.

Sunday was spent not doing anything Easter-like. I slept in, pottered around the house, returned my videos, finished up the Tanith Lee Tales from the Flat Earth books (god, I love those stories. Saturated in color, they are) and spent the evening with Cher and Persia watching "Scotland, PA." It's a really fun movie, by the way - great acting all around. It's not "inspired by" Macbeth, either - it's a retelling. What if MacBeth were set in a Pennsylvania town in the seventies among fast-food restaraunt entreprenures? With Andy Dick playing one of the Witches? And Christopher Walken as MacDuff, the vegetarian police lieutenant?

However, I have spent far, far too much money. Gotta tighten the belt until this Friday. Blah. And we need to make a grocery run, too.

9:50 a.m. - 2003-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce