Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ambushes

My friends and family are all apparently a sneaky and deceptive bunch. Instead of the pool party tonight which I was busily (well, maybe not so much with the busy, actually) planning for, I was lured to the house on Friday night with the tale of a dog and a mystery rash, which turned out to be a surprise party. I had been getting small twinges on my antenna that something was in the wind - SherryDarling's normally very helpful party attitude had gone from "Do we need extra paper plates? I have salsa, I'll bring that, and some chips. Ooh, and salad dressing!" to "Oh, we'll get all that worked out. Gotta go, bye! *click*" But I figured that the Saturday night party was maybe just going to be a bigger affair than I had been working towards, not that they had moved it up a night and arranged everything, down to inviting two of my friends from Penn State who I get to see very rarely.

Of course, when I rounded the corner and saw a suspiciously large number of cars parked around my mom's house, it kind of gave it away. Heh.

At any rate, it was a boisterous event of the kind I like best - amusing, sociable people eating and swapping stories and ice cream cake and small children shrieking in the swimming pool and laughter and beer and deviled eggs, long into the evening. And with such a great start to it, thirty is sure to be a fantastic year indeed.

9:32 p.m. - 2005-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce