Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Staple that squirrel! Stuff that squid!

I was doing some reading on crazy quilts, as a side note to my cigarette premiums exhibit, and came across a bizzare quilt that somebody did. First of all, I had no idea that home taxidermy was a Victorian thing (to the point where Godey's Ladies Book had a few articles about it. (The mention of this in the crazy quilt book was accompanied by a hilarious portrait of a dour, granny-looking woman, very proper, surrounded by a veritable Noah's Ark of animals she had personally stuffed. The caption to the photo wonders if her husband is, ahem, still around.)

The next page had a detail of a quilt to which the woman had attatched - get this - two stuffed chipmunks. I shit you not. They're artistically placed around a tree, and one of them is nibbling a nut. Oooogy, huh? Those wacky Victorians! Would you feel comfortable lounging on a sofa under a quilt that had Chip and Dale stapled to it? I think not.

Which reminds me, I need to get Frank out of storage and into the Missouri room. You all remember Frank, right? Ram's head on wheels Frank? Yeah, you remember him. He's probably appeared in a nightmare or two by now.

Did any of you see Trading Spaces this week? Who knew the color brown was capable of wigging somebody out that much? Of course, I think she was a little unstable to begin with, based on her being horribly rude to Edward, who I am hearby boxing up and shipping out to my imaginary Italian villa with all my other imaginary tv boyfriends. Doug's already there, so they can chat about differing design styles, and then Edward can sew gorgeous new curtains for every room and reupholster things.

10:08 a.m. - 2003-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce