Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wedding story

This past Saturday was the Bemo's and my sixth wedding anniversary. We didn't do too much to celebrate, aside from a dinner out at a non-fancy, but slightly pricier restaurant. It's sort of funny to contemplate six years, as it seems simultaneously a nothing and a signifigant accumulation of time together.

I wish I could go back in time and change a few things about the wedding - I was stuck in a strange place between determination to make it small and inexpensive, and a residual clinging onto "traditions" that every wedding is "required" to have. I'd like to jettison the strange reception we had, where we were trying to do too much with too little money, and instead have asked somebody to host a small homey reception in their house. Or we could have all gone to dinner somewhere.

I'd also prevent Bemo's sister from doing my makeup. Gadzooks, but as inept as I am with that sort of thing, I could have done a better job myself. I'd at least look less Tammy Fay.

The honeymoon was the best part of the whole day. We were snuggled together in this cute little cottage near the mountains. I wish that could have lasted weeks and weeks.

A Wedding Story:

Bemo and I are heading out to change clothes before we leave for the honeymoon, but first have to stop by a gas station to run the car through the car wash (it had been decorated with shaving cream and somebody had pried apart Hydrox cookies and stuck them, cream side down, in neat rows along the windshield, and shoe polish had been used to scrawl various messages on the back window). Bemo runs into the gas station in his tux, leaving me visible in the car, white gown and crown of flowers and all. Gesturing towards the wrecked and despoiled car, he asks the gas station attendant, "Guess what I need!" The attendant responds, "Uh...condoms?"

9:10 a.m. - 2004-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce