Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day for the dead

Although I knew, of course, that today was Veteran's Day, I had forgotten that it's also Armistice Day. Although I pride myself in being more knowledgable about World War I than most of my peers (which is not, to be quite honest, saying much at all - if it weren't for my junior year in the Philippines, where I was in IB history with a professor who was very interested in it, I would hardly be informed about the time period because it gets jumped over so World War II can be taught), I obviously missed the big date, today - and that's because my knowledge of war is mostly gleaned through poetry, _Rilla of Ingleside_, Peter Wimsey's shell-shock, and my slow plough through the Vera Brittan book. It's all so superficial.

Here are a few links to people who can really let you know what today should mean:

Trenches on the Web

The poems of Wilfred Owen

Rob from "Darn Tootin" on Wilfred Owen

More Rob

6:57 p.m. - 2003-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce