Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Could I be more of a dumbass? Probably, yes.

Yesterday I washed and brushed three huskies, trimmed the toenails of two cats, scrubbed assorted other dogs, and made a total ass out of myself in front of somebody I knew slightly from high school and who I hadn't seen since then.

To set the story up, I should explain that a couple of times in the recent past, people have asked me if I'm still in high school. No, I don't understand it either, but the fact is, it's happened. But, you know, talking about it makes me seem a little egotistical, like I'm Miss Queen of the Youthful-Looking Twenty Eight Year Olds, and really I think it's more that I act like a teenage spaz that has made people question the idea that I'm a legal adult. So anyway, I'm brushing out a sheltie, when a guy who is there waiting for his dog to be finished asks me a question.

Keep in mind that those three huskies are singing like they're in the All-State Acapella Finals, various dryers are going, and the groomer next to me is using electric clippers, which make a buzzing noise. Over all this din, I *think* the question this guy asks me is "Are you in high school?"

I blink, but figure that heck, I've been asked before, and reply, "No - uh, I'm twenty-eight." My expression is, I hope, not smirky. It was probably pretty befuddled, actually. But I wanted the floor to open up and swallow me when the guy goes, "No...I said, what high school *did* you go to?"

Oh. Oops. Way to come across like a vain prima donna there, Gen. I immediately got super-flustered, and barely managed to squeak out the name of my high school. Whereupon he promptly said that he remembered me, and that I knew his twin brother. Dear god. I barely remember myself in high school, and certainly I didn't expect anybody else to. I was not just a wallflower, I was downright doing my best to fly under everybody's radar to escape with as little scarring as possible. I wasn't popular, although I managed to make close friends that are still friends today (*waves to Persia and Cherbear*) and I apparently had some magical power to make boys look right through me. The idea that this guy, who I barely knew, remembered me made me feel like my stomach had flipped over. And I'm not even sure why. At any rate, I babbled inanely to him, aware that my pride was smarting miserably because he probably thought I worked for Petsmart as a dog bather as a career, or something. He's a professional bodyguard (and really cute, which probably added to my loss of blood to the brain) and his brother owns a construction company. And there I was, covered in husky hair, brushing a little sheltie who was cowering on the grooming table, trying to think of a way I could casually comment on the fact that this was just a weekend job, hahahahaha, have to pay the car payment somehow, but I do real work, you know. Sometimes my stupid fucking pride gets in the way, but thankfully I was prevented from putting my foot even further in my mouth by the arrival of his dog, now finished. It was a gross little bug-eyed shih tzu, so maybe I should not be so concerned about what he thinks, eh?

In other news, I finally got around to watching My Big Fat Greek Wedding, and thought it cute but not at all as good as I had been led to believe. It was a light comedy, folks - charming, family-friendly, but nothing that made me laugh out loud. Maybe it's the fact that I grew up in a similar family makes me too close to the source of the humor to find it as riotous as other people seemed to. Bah. I was just saying to my little sister that we got all of the bad effects of a huge close-knit "ethnic" family and few of the perks. We got the guilt and the pressure to live up to bizzare social expectations, but no close-knit safety net and cool family gatherings. It's worth seeing, but it's hardly the Best.Movie.Ever.

Went to the used book store and picked up two Mary Gentle's (Rats and Gargoyles, and The Architecture of Desire) and then hit Borders for Jim Butcher's most recent book Summer Knight. Actually, I think the next Butcher is due out soon, so I have to keep my eyes open for it. And if you're a Buffy fan (which I am not, because I didn't come in on it in the beginnning and thus was never able to catch up) you'll be happy to note that James Marsares narrates the first two audio books of the series. Please, no angry guestbook comments if I've spelled Spike's name wrong - I freely admit that he's a hottie. I just don't watch the show.

10:03 p.m. - 2003-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce