Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I got da hotel california bass line learning blues

Cherbear has decided that I have to start playing bass again, since she just learned most of the rythym guitar part of "Hotel California." Many moons ago, I had learned most of the bass line (I could play it vastly underspeed and with many fumblings) and made the mistake of telling her! So yesterday Bemo and I sat down and had, as the hep cats say, a jam session. That is, I jammed my fingers trying to remember all the notes and play them in something resembling the correct order. Thanks a lot, Cher - you'll be recieving the dr's bill when I have to go in for a radical finger replacement.

I am not musically inclined in that I took three months of piano and quit, and spent some time in indifferent school choruses which I enjoyed, but I can't say I shone in. My sister is already far ahead on that track, although she has apparently inherited the family curse which realignes the heavens to prevent us from singing "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy" in public. And damn it, we'd have done a good job with it, too. So this is my first true attempt to even half-heartedly learn a musical instrument, and I'm doing ok, in that I can play things by memory, but I have no concept of the theory behind it. When Bemo tells me, "Look, that solo is actually just a blues turnaround that's been stretched out a bit," I nod in simlated understanding and move on. Don't ask what I do when he starts speaking real music language, like suspended chords and bends and sharps and stuff. I basically get a glazed look and stare down at my fingers, waiting until it's over with. So I do all my learning via tabulature, which at least makes some kind of visual sense to me, but damn. Some of those rythym patterns go against your pulse! How are you expected to play them!

I am so white, it's not even funny.

6:14 p.m. - 2002-05-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce