Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Madcap Movie Review: Batman Begins

Been a movie-watching fest here at the Bemo/Bee household - but that's mostly because they're putting out movies I'm really interested in seeing. Imagine that! We've seen more movies in the past month than I did in the past year, I think.

Anyway, the Bemo and I both loved this newest installation of the franchise. It ranks pretty damn high - maybe the best movie in the series, but if not, it's definitely second only to the funhouse original. It was a trifle slow, and the beginning was a little strained, but the slowness turned out to be a bonus, like wallowing in a really long book that you don't want to end because you're having too good a time. Acting was stellar all around, even Katie Holmes, who doesn't bug me, particularly, but does nothing for me either. (And she's not really all that great-looking, either - which fits into her role as girl next door, not glam eyecandy.) But she did her job, didn't distract, and never made me scream and fling popcorn.

Bale really, really hit the whole disfunction of Bruce Wayne/Batman perfectly, and I loved how Liam Neeson was able to play off of that. And the relationship between Bruce and Alfred was absolutely frigging spot-on.

And as a side note, I want to bear eight million of Liam Neeson's babies, even if he makes me move to a remote Eastern monastery to do so. Oh, and after all the fuss some people were making about how bad Rutger Hauer looks now that he's older, I was expecting some sort of melting-face zombie to come shambling onto the screen. Dudes, he's older, but he hasn't undergone some sort of Patrick Swazye turnaround. I'd still hit it.

12:48 p.m. - 2005-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce