Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy birfday to meeee

Well, as of some time this morning, I am now twenty-seven years old. It doesn't feel different, naturally - the headyness of turning sixteen or twenty-one wasn't expected in this case, but it does feel a bit odd to think of myself as in my "late twenties." Mom called up this morning to say happy birthday, and O Bliss! did not mention the whole aging ovaries thing again. Plus I got a really cute card from the office.

Sunday was spent running around and doing various errands. Bemo and I went to Debaggio Herbs, and rummaged around cheerfully in the sweet-smelling greenhouse and grounds. I picked up two lavender plants and one more rosemary, and was advised that the rosemary should not go into the ground, but rather into a pot, since the odds of it surviving the winter are very low.

Then onto therapy riding, where I got to meet the new horse, Percy (who was looking cranky, but who I am assured is a very good horse) and the horse and foal of one of the barn managers, Athena and her baby Diana. Diana is a little darling of a foal, two weeks old, that gorgeous black/brown colour, with a dainty white star on her forehead. She is a very sociable little thing, and I'll have to get her picture at some point. The lessons themselves, alas, weren't as much fun - the ring was dusty and I had forgotten to bring any water, plus the trainee instructor had the students trotting a whole bunch more than I was used to. So by the end of the day I was panting and my mouth tasted like dust. I had to go stick my head in the hose, slurp up some water, and bolt back home to shower before Persia and Cherbear arrived.

Persia and her daughter showed up, with her daughter in full "do you know what? And then.... and then...and then..." mode which was funny. I remember when Boop hit that rambling storytelling stage. Cherbear arrived soon after, and we decided to head out to Red Robin, a nice burger joint with lots of fun crap on the walls to look at. The evening didn't go quite as smoothly as planned, as Cherbear discovered she had left her wallet at her mom's house (Bemo told me to call you a doof, Cher.)

Trying to arrange things so that I can go with Cher and Persia to the beach next week. Things are looking like it can be done, so woo - some beach time would be really awesome right about now.

So, to sum up, this past weekend was great. Yay!

11:13 a.m. - 2002-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce