Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Geni Steams A Bridesmaid

In case anybody wants to know what I've been up to, here's an Action Shot! of me steaming a bridesmaid dress from about 1912. Normally, I'd be wearing gloves, but the chiffon overlay of the dress was so fragile that you can't risk having the cotton gloves snag on it, so I simply washed my hands really well. (The previous disclaimer made due to the possibility that a fellow registrar would see this and send me hate mail. Which is unlikely.)

In recent news, I've been permitted to go to AAM, so now I'm trying to get a nice low price for a flight to New Orleans in early May (Air Tran looks to have ones for about a hundred and fourteen bucks) and also hotel accomodations. I may just suck it up and go to a hostel, because this is all going to cost money that I really don't have. But I've been wanting to go to New Orleans most of my life, and this seems the opportune moment, so I'm going to do it however I can. The conference is being held right in the middle of the French Quarter, so I'll get to do all the touristy stuff, and luckily, the Jazz Festival will have just ended, so things like hotel rooms won't still be inflated.

Anybody who has good ideas on things to do in the Crescent City, please let me know.

12:33 p.m. - 2004-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce