Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terrified and sweaty. Worse than being Naked and Famous.

Spent most of yesterday sweating and terrified. While this may turn on some of you more kinky readers out there (do I have kinky readers? Am I not catering to my audience?), the sweating was because we were hauling the last of the platforms up from Inaccessable Storage Area #1 and hauling the movable walls down into said storage area. Consequence: I hurt all over today. We passed through chipper determination into grim and sweaty determination into mild hysterical laughter into wild hysterical laughter into exhausted silence before we were through. One of my favorite t-shirts was a casualty, and I am now sporting a nice bruise on my forearm, but the job, she is done.

As for the terrified part, I came up for lunch to hear a ranting and expletive-filled voice mail from my husband, who had discovered that the water in the house had been turned off. We thought (logically, given things that had happened in the past), that this was the next stage in Roommate's bossy mom's scenario to see if she could nudge us out of the house a little earlier (not anything she has explicitly said, but something we are sort of sensing. We may be paranoid, or we may be correct.) This was exacerbated by the fact that because she had the phones turned off without giving us any prior warning, the second job at CSB that Bemo was supposed to pick up has gone bye-bye, at least for this semester. They like him, and they're probably willing to pick him up for the next round of classes, but it means no extra dough just at this moment when we need it the most.

So basically, I spent the day dreading drama, and praying that roommate's mother wouldn't show up at the house and get into it with Bemo. I had put him in a better mood by commenting on how much I had hated the breakfast burrito I had bought for lunch - I mumbled that it was too much burrito and too little breakfast, and for some reason that cracked him up and lightened the mood. But I still didn't know what I would find when I got home, and my stomach was in a knot because of it. When I got home, I found the water back on (water company hadn't recieved their check, so it had to be straightened out) and Bemo had indeed talked - cordially! - with Roommate's mother. Aside from a "That woman never shuts up," comment (true, alas), he wasn't in a particularly crummy mood. All this despite the fact that he has raging insomnia, which is starting to worry me.

Ah, the drama of moving. I am constantly on the verge of upchucking. Maybe I should start praying for a rain of dollar bills to start falling from the sky...although knowing my luck, they'd be bundled in stacks and I'd get beaned by one and spend the rest of my life in a drooling vegetative coma.

11:46 a.m. - 2004-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce