Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Anniversary, and a story about butter

In honor of mine and The Bemo's fifth wedding anniversary, I was going to put together a Cavalcade of Love Quotations - Words To Make You Mushy. But I just got back from dog-washing, I'm full of chicken teryaki from the mall foodcourt, and to be quite honest, I'm barely awake. So I think I'll postpone that particular entry (I can hear the disappointed crying now) and just direct you all over to My Elvis, where you can hear the very surreal sound of Elvis singing the Paul Simon song "Graceland." Actually, the weirdest one is Elvis singing "La Vida Loca," but for pure sociological fun, it's really him singing "Graceland," because, y'know, the only reason Graceland is a point of cultural relevance for Paul Simon to incorporate into his ballad of finding yourself in America is *because* Elvis himself is such a major cultural touchstone. But then, I'm sure you all knew that. Although I did just pull it out of my ass.

Spent yesterday (the actual date of our anniversary) with mom and Boop, helping to repair the damage from a burst pipe in the kitchen. Mom also treated me to IHOP (a good reason for putting up with her total nuttiness is that I get free food out of the deal) and I tried the crepes with lemon butter. I hope that this IHOP is simply plagued by a butter-mad cook, and that people around America aren't eating that much puddling butter every time they sit down to a plate of crepes, because I could have taken all my clothes off and done the backstroke across my plate, there was that much butter on the damn things. (I'm certain the fine denizens of IHOP would have loved for me to do that, don't you think?) Consequently, I was feeling like I had just swallowed a quart of motor oil for the rest of the day. Unpleasantly greasy.

Enough gibber-gabber, time to finish up and plump up my pillow for Trading Spaces later tonight.

4:58 p.m. - 2003-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce