Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little Geni Homemaker

Spent most of yesterday with my mom, learning, of all things, how to crochet. I am now fairly reliable at the chain stitch, and could indeed chain stitch a neverending thread all day and night, but the next stage of things is proving a little more difficult for me to get a handle on. The results, so far, have been what me might charitably call "uneven." And, perhaps, "lumpy." I am contemplating obtaining my own crochet hook. At least the cat will be entertained by all the yard that is sure to be lying around the house.

As I was at mom's house yesterday, I took the opportunity to clean out the Bonneville, as it has accumulated roughly three metric tons of trash, due to Bemo's refusal to keep a trash bag in the damn thing. The dogs were out in the new little gated front porch area, eying me wistfully. While I was looking in the trunk, I heard them start barking frantically, and looked up to see a big, handsome dog fox come out of the neighbor's bushes across the street, give the dogs a dismissive glance, and continue across the street, where he cocked his leg on the bushes of the house next door, and continued on his way. He was quite the looker, and at that moment I was rather ashamed to realize that I own a fox pelt of one of his bretheren, bought at Pennsic War about eight years ago. I don't object to fur, in general, but that attitude doesn't stand up very well when I am faced with its original owner. Maybe that cocking of the leg on the bushes wasn't a message to the dogs, but rather to myself.

Back to reading Sayers - I'm having a hard time prying good discussion topics out of this slim little volume (slim, but entertaining). I'm afraid that my tenure as a discussion leader hasn't been a stellar one, but I will try to remedy that with a few tidbits from Barbara Reynold's bio of Sayers. Maybe I can redeem myself a bit.

6:52 p.m. - 2004-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce