Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A moment of sadness, and then some booty dancing

I remember being six years old and seeing "Three's Company" for the first time. I thought Jack Tripper was cute, and made the mistake of telling that to one of my friends at the time, Paul. Paul, obviously a little more worldly than I was (I had only just been introduced to the "There's a place in France where the naked ladies dance" song), asked me loudly, "So you wanna HUMP him?"

I had no idea what that meant. In my limited experience up to this point, hump was something your car went over when you drove through a neighborhood, because they didn't want you driving fast. I knew Paul couldn't have meant that; in fact, I knew for certain that he meant something DIRTY. But what? How could I find out?

So I asked my mom. My ultra-conservative mom, who at first didn't know what I meant, and then figured out, as I had, that something DIRTY was meant.

I was left in ignorance for another few years. Eventually, my education was broadened, and I acquired the healthy vocabulary of nasty words that I currently posess. Thanks, Mr. Ritter.

However, I didn't gather you all together for the purpose of mourning. I will proceed now to be entirely selfish. Last night, I had about a two-hour phone conversation with The Diva, who I may have to formally rename The Cheerful Diva, because he is a happy man now that he's got tenure. The best part of my conversation with him? I DON'T HAVE TO WRITE A THESIS.

Please join with me in the No-Thesis Bootie Dance, done to the tune of "That's the Way (uh-huh, uh-huh) I Like It."

Now, I should clarify. I still must produce a paper which resembles a thesis in many respects. I still need two readers, and it obviously needs to be scholastically sound. The option to do a paper instead of a formal thesis was put in place after I left, and I figured that I was out of luck, as in most cases you're required to abide by the requirements in place when you start the program. But no, informed Cheerful Diva. I could, and indeed *should* do a paper, because this way I can get my masters degree without having to negotiate the labyrinth that is known as the Thesis Office. No need to buy special paper. No need to carefully set margins, meet their deadlines, submit two copies of three forms here, there, everywhere. No need to carefully plan things to meet not only my expectations and that of my advisor, but those of the thesis office people. And, should the day come that I decide to go back and pursue a doctorate (about the same time that giant purple pigs begin flying out my ass) it would still serve as a writing sample that most universities would accept. In short, what I'm saying here is that there are bunches of benefits, and virtually no drawbacks. None, baby.

Dance with me, won't you?

2:38 p.m. - 2003-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce