Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If I only had a Doug. And a brain, too.

So tonight's Vegas episode of Trading Spaces has firmly solidified my Doug-lust. I mean, the man can be an obnoxious diva, but when he's in one of those mischeveous, dirty-talking moods, I just melt. Stripper poles! You can't have too many stripper poles in a bedroom!

Downloaded some Poi Dog Pondering since I can't seem to find my copy of Volo Volo. They're a lot of fun, and now that I've heard Guster, the two bands have a lot of similarities. Lots of fun to sing along to in the car, they are.

Spent the day at home because I couldn't face work. It was freezing out, I was having one of those hellish First Day of Your Period moments where I was crampy and prone to bursting out into tears at totally inappropriate moments, and it just wasn't the moment for me to stand ankle-deep in sudsy water, lathering up a labrador or blow-drying a beagle. (Them's my alliteration for the day. Enjoy it, there won't be any more.)

Having one of those moments where I feel like a total dullard, and I'm glad I didn't do my masters in English. The LordPeter-ites were invited over to a different list to participate in that list's discussion of _Gaudy Night_ and right off the bat, I was intimidated by the formidible knowledge that these women on the new list seemed to demonstrate. I put my toe in the water when one of them made some statements that I didn't buy, and got a long and very intimidating response back that basically said, "Stop being so defensive, because I'm right and you're wrong, little fan-girl. We're here to get at the truth of the novel, and not to praise it."

I don't know if I can go toe to toe with this woman, who keeps using words like "avuncular" and "emasculated" to describe Peter. She doesn't seem to like Harriet very much either. She comes across, actually, as Miss DeVine without the tact, and I don't know if my brain, with its fewer footcandles of brilliance, can keep on an even playing field with her.

Ah, well. Time will see, and it's not as though it will change any of my liking for the book or for Sayers. And it should be interesting, no matter what. Despite my concerns about getting smacked back by her, she should have interesting things to say...if I can comprehend them!

11:30 p.m. - 2003-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce