Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drink fast, it's getting weird in here.

Woo. Don't party with Television Without Pity-ers unless you know how it's done. From thus comes the title of tonight's entry, said by a non TWoPper when they discovered fifty people with namebadges and strange phrases had taken over half of their bar.

Saturday night, after a full day of work (I got up at four-fricking-thirty in the am, yo) I went to the TWoP-con. It was at a very flamboyant gay bar in Crystal City, all plastic flamingos and pseudo tiki torches, plus our waitress who was a drag queen but who didn't wear anything really cool. The whole event was a competition with New York, who was also having a con that night, to see who could raise more money for the site. We went with a dare system where you bought tickets and used them to dare other people into singing whatever twisted tune you felt like inflicting on them.

Ahem. Which is why I, a kareoke virgin, got stuck singing "I Touch Myself" with a full cotere of TWoP women writhing sineously behind me. God knows how I sounded - I picked up the mic, blacked out for three minutes, and when I came to the song was done and I could sit my trembling ass down again.

It was all worth it, though - we spanked NYC's collective tuckus, outraising them by about four hundred bucks. A grand total of over two grand was raised for the site, which is totally cool. And damn, TWoPers are some of the coolest people on the planet.

Bemo, on the other hand, was having a not-so-great night. ATF played at a restaurant named Da Vinci's, where they got screwed on the payment, were made to play later than they were originally told (which meant a lot of people left because they didn't have the time to wait around) and ended up performing at less than optimum standards. There was also a broken mic cable somewhere in the mix. Such are the trials of a band just starting up.

So naturally, Sunday was spent sleeping in, for the most part. I've also had a delicious nap, but I think I'll pack it in. Lots to do tomorrow.

10:14 p.m. - 2003-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce