Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fertility among the family

Mom called me up last night with a conversation opener frequently heard in our family. "Guess who's pregnant!" I guessed a few names of cousins (as you can see, I have quite a few) and struck out totally. Turns out one of my aunts (or, as our spanish-speaking family refers to them, the titas) is having her tenth child. Bear in mind that her eldest child is 20, and her youngest aside from the bun in the oven is eight. Talk about a surprise baby indeed.

I'm sick at home, after a hectic weekend of docenting for an event, working a long shift at the 'Mart prepping for an audit, and in general being busy and feeling wacked out on Tylenol Cold 'N Sinus. I felt a little guilty about taking a day off just before I take off for New Orleans, but then I'll only be gone for three working days, and anyway, my mission there has been charged with a new sense of urgency - presenting myself as a sterling representative of a sterling institution. There are some events taking place that I don't feel comfortable going into in such a public space as this little journal, but suffice it to say, we're all feeling a trifle paranoid about things at my place of employment (not about everybody being fired, but more about the value of what we do there) and I will be walking into the den of the enemy, so to speak.

Wow, that was nicely cryptic, yes? But even if I wrote it all out in plain english, it's sort of one of those situations where the jargon of the museum world would get in the way of easy comprehension anyway. I tried to explain it to a couple of friends, and I don't know if I was making myself understood except in the most general sense. Ah, well.

The new WWII memorial is very very pretty, especially at night. I was a little dubious back when I first saw the sketches for it, because it looked a little cold and meh, but it proved to be a very nice design that fits its location very well. It's quite lovely.

Torn - should I go see Van Helsing despite its almost certain suckitude? Because Hugh Jackman is so delicious...but I hate Kate Beckinsale now that she's turned into Robo-Playmate. The Meg Ryan factor has kept me from other Hugh Jackman movies, so I don't know how to balance this issue out.

1:28 p.m. - 2004-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce