Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*slurp**slurp* The cats like my sister's foot sweat

Being a cashier, while not as hard on the body as dog washing, is rather numbing. After a certain point, you find yourself mechanically proceeding through the day, including making the store-required polite small talk (How many kittens do you have? Oh, lots of dog biscuits there, what kind of dog do you have?). Although most of the day passed very quickly, I hate the fact that my weekend is gone, finis, kaput and I have nothing to show for it. Well, technically speaking, I have money to show for it. But somehow that seems like small compensation.

Tomorrow begins Edwardian House, done by the same people as 1900 House. I'm madly excited about it. Apparently the father of the family really embraces the whole wealthy man of the manor house, which makes him a bit obnoxious to the staff. The cook sounds like a real character. My only problem with these shows is that while they take place over a three month period, we see so very little of it. I think this one is six shows, but in Frontier House, weren't there only four? For three months? There should be reams of material. Then again, I'm a history geek, and would give my left arm to even be a scullery maid. (The first one left after three days, I think. The work is brutal. But it would be fascinating.)

9:04 p.m. - 2003-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce