Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The habit of scavenging a free meal never dies

Ever since I became an official golly-gee full fledged member of the museum world, I've gotten the annual invitation to the christmas party thrown by the big-name fine arts shipping company, which is legendary for proffering excellent food, much booze, and good company. I've passed on it all previous years, because I tend to be a wallflower when I'm surrounded by people I only barely know (if at all), but this year Prep Lad (I'm trying to make him sound like a superhero. Is it working?) found out I wasn't going to go and changed my mind. He did it by simply saying, "Are you nuts? Free food and booze?" This is the way to anybody's heart who has ever been a grad student. The habit of living for the free buffet, cheese and cracker plate, or glass of white wine from a box never truly dies. Plus, he promised to introduce me to all his friends at the shipping company, American Art, and everywhere else he's worked.

The party was at the District Chophouse and Brewery, and indeed proffered excellent beer and truly awesome food. Museum people are a sociable lot, and you can always start up a conversation by A)complaining about your storage, B)complaining about your curator (this only works if you're not talking to one) or C)complaining about your board and the new stupid thing they just did. Really, if I had remembered how much fun I had at other museum functions, I might not have been so hesitant to go to the other parties.

But my lesson has been learned. Next week is the party thrown by a big exhibit design firm, and Prep Lad and I will be there with bells on. Because, free food, yo.

8:19 a.m. - 2004-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce