Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All together now - GET A GRIP!

A moment of surrealness watching the press briefing on the sniper last night. It was conducted much like the Oscar's, with people introducing other people, long lists of people to praise (deserved, undoubtably, but a little weird in this context), no real information, and several moments of silence. Seriously, I felt like I was watching an awards show. But it looks to be all in the bag, now - two men caught, and all the strands of the evidence being tied together. And hopefully, no more paranoia when you're gassing up your car or leaving Borders.

Weird moment just happened on one of my work-related email lists. Somebody posted a long screed about how top-posting was disrespectful to the disabled (specifically the blind, who use readers and are thus subjected to the same text over and over again in each message) and I responded with a few brief comments of my own. Firstly, I said if you snip judiciously, you aren't subjecting anybody to anything but the repetition of a few direct sentences that you are then responding to. Secondly, I've always been taught that topposting was vastly rude because it means that you are making people read the response before you even get to the question. Huh. I received back a long screed about how the original poster was once (like me, it was strongly implied)a clueless Able Bodied person who has now seen the error of her ways and is sensitive to the needs of Non Able Bodied people everywhere. It ended with a charming anecdote about her friend Frank, who despite being in a wheelchair can still dance at weddings and is a vivacious and happy person. I haven't seen anything this condescending in a while. And, feeling a bit like Lord Peter and whoosisface in Have His Carcase, I was forced to inform the original poster that I am not exactly as clueless as she was assuming. You know, therapy riding, children with autism and CP and other disabilities, Me Know People In Big World Not Always Have All Abilities. Me Sophisticated Woman Of World. Ungawah. *pauses for a moment to thump chest*

I hate getting exercised about things like this, and yet I always do. Grr. But my director just came in to ask what all the laughing was about (I was discussing this with my compatriot, FlirtyFeminist, and we were giggling) and she started laughing too. So I'm not feeling so grumpy anymore.

Yeesh. People. Get. A. Grip.

10:13 a.m. - 2002-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce