Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Noooo, I don't want to hear about the hobbit feet! It was all real!

My friend Karen pointed out that the VRE does indeed go to Fredricksburg, so I'd have a non-car route. An expensive one, however - the VRE isn't cheap and then I'd have extra metro fare from Union Station to Farragut West, the closest metro stop near work. It's a possibility, however. Depending on whether certain of Bemo's irons glows the hottest, we might go to Maryland, although I know nothing about the state except that they seem to produce swarms of drivers who can't drive.

Bemo went to Central Casting's Open Call today, and was told that his voice demo was pretty poopy. The woman told him this in a nice way, however, and said that while he clearly had potential, he simply wasn't living up to it. She gave him advice (broaden the types of voice work on the demo, etc) and also gave him the addresses of two voice coaches to help him expand his repetoire. Hopefully, the voice coaching won't be to dear, but I don't know that I can realistically expect that. Like anything useful, it's sure to be wildly expensive. However, it's something Bemo's good at and has the potential to be great at, so I would think of it as an investment in the future. Cross your fingers on this one, people.

After he finished up with Central Casting, Bemo headed over to my work and saved me from chicken noodle soup for lunch. We went to Cosi and had yummy sandwiches. It was warm enough to sit outside, even - a nice treat after the past couple days where the cold has been piercing. Bemo and I haven't had the chance to spend much time together recently as our schedules seem to absolutely work against each other, so it was a nice treat to see him when it was actually light outside and one of us wasn't running out the door.

Playing with the Lord of the Rings expanded DVD, and listened to the cast commentary today. Lots of fun, especially as for whatever reason it gives me the warm fuzzies to know that the cast really and truly seemed to get along well. Natalie will be glad to know that she's in good company when she refuses to see how they did all the visual tricks - Sean Astin's mum is apparently the same way, and has covered her ears during conversations where people ask how things were done. Me, I like seeing that stuff but can totally turn it off when watching the movie. It does become real for me, especially in such a richly imagined world.

My copy of Beowulf should be arriving soon. Yarrrrr.

9:00 p.m. - 2003-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce