Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I may have to kiss the next IRS agent I see

So many things that terrify me turn out to be nothing much - you'd think that I would have learned this valuable lesson when I was scared at the idea of going into Rome by myself, and then finally did it and had the time of my life.

I finally sacked up today and called the IRS, as I had been putting it off and putting it off, and one of my New Year's resolutions was to finally settle the damn issue. And, like Rome, I expected to find a snarling tiger and instead found a pussycat.

The IRS agent on the phone reminded me of Kevin Spacy in "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" - just a slight tinge of a Southern accent, and a very calm, soothing way of speaking. He told me what I need to do, and reassured me that the steps Bemo and I had taken were the right ones. In short, my problem with them can be taken care of without much trouble at all, and if we do still owe money (Bemo has been withholding extra cash out of his paycheck, because of this whole mess), we can pay it in installments quite easily. I wanted to blubber in gratitude to him, but limited myself to a very mild "I was scared, but you've been so nice, and I'm so relieved" sort of general statement. Phew. It's nice to have that out of the way - or at least, to know what I need to do to make it out of the way.

6:10 p.m. - 2004-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce