Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ketchup

I am such a geek - I've been to see Pirates of the Carribean twice in the past week, because it's such a fun movie. In fact, I have a theory that despite the obligatory Disney touches (goofy pratfalls, etc), Pirates is actualy a better movie than the people who were making it planned on. The lion's share of the credit for that goes to Johnny Depp, who pulls off one of the goofiest, wackiest, most hysterically wonderful movie pirates that I have ever seen (not that, you know, I've seen all that many of them). But there are so many little throwaways that, when looked at closely, are sheer brilliance - like the one Bemo keeps quoting.

"You're alive! That's not possible!"

"No, no - it's not *probable*!

It sounds better when you do it with the Captain Sparrow/Keith Richards accent.

Orlando Bloom does a great job as the young hero - a little more irony and a little less naievete than most young heros have, which is very nice.

And, of course, the fact that Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom are both delicious to look at and listen to does not hurt one little bit.

Boop, if you want me to call you, you haveta give me your phone number! But I'm glad to see that these first days of school are going well for you. Everybody, my little sister is in college and writing papers! I'm so old! *wail*

Going to dogsit for a couple of weeks for a nice couple who have an absolutely IMMENSE house. Bemo and I will rattle around in it, just us and the dog, Smokey. They also have a massive jacuzzi tub which we will have to put to good use.

So, what else? I finally have watched Say Anything, which is a fabulous movie. I've discovered I have a fondness for those General Foods International Coffees, no doubt because they contain lots of sugar and very little actual coffee product. Rain lover though I am, it's getting a little old. I want a glorious autumn, tart and colorful and vivid, with blue skies and crisp days. I want to start wearing more clothing because I have to, not less because I'll melt into a little puddle if I don't.

Off to go be productive.

10:36 a.m. - 2003-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce