Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rampant reverting to Childhood

Today is the Bemo's 41st birthday. We are celebrating it with Mexican food (his work gave him some gift certificates to Don Pablo's) and a second rendition of the Chocolate Chip Cherry cake that I made on Sunday. I ran out of vanilla extract, so made the frosting with lemon extract instead, which works to a certain extent, but all reviews indicate that the vanilla buttercream was more favorably received. (Boop was startled by the lemon, and apparently wondered if I had done something wrong with the batter. Hmph. I am not a frequent baker, but neither do I have a sweet potato for a head.

Am in the mood to do a night where I cook Filipino dishes for friends. Lumpia shanghai, maybe, and a dish like pork inihaw or apritadang manok, maybe something noodle-ly like pancit luglug, and pastillas de leche, or Halo-Halo, or yema for dessert. Not sure why I'm suddenly feeling all ethnic and wanting to return to the stuff I grew up on - maybe it's that the only local Filipino restaurant serves food that tends towards the greasy. Or maybe the baking triggered a "Cook! You must cook now!" thing and this just happens to be what my brain is interested in.

12:56 p.m. - 2005-07-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce