Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Love's labour's and friend's labours

Rereading Juniper, Gentian, and Rosemary by Pamela Dean - I'll probably go on to reread Tam Lin again as well (no hardship that). They are some of my favorite books in the world, although JGR has some frustrating flaws and some possibly too subtle subtleties that require pondering and can be good conversation topics. Who is Dominic Hardy? What does he want with Gentian? Is Gentian's father an incompetent, unobservant idiot or is he simply rearing his children with a vigorous Darwinistic method? What does the devil want with a time machine?

Inflicted Love's Labour's Lost on Persia and Cherbear last night during one of those "argue about the world's problems, eat, watch a movie, argue some more, talk about all the cute guys you'd like to have tucked away in your closet for later use" sessions. I hope everybody has those sorts of gatherings with their close friends - they're part of what makes life fabulous. LLL didn't go over well with either, which didn't surprise me much - I seem to have a gene that can filter out the stuff that's just too, too cheesy and leave all the enjoyable bits behind. That said, I think slapstick is primarily a dead genre, and modern attempts to recreate it mostly fall flat. Also, I think Baz Whossisface was lucky to have Ewan MacGregor and Nicole Kidman as his stars, as they do have better singing voices than Alicia Silverstone. There were a few LLL castmembers who could hold their own, vocally, and one absolutely great dancer (the dancing was kept simple, so nobody disgraced themselves). I think I need to watch Much Ado again very soon. And maybe Hamlet. No urge to rewatch Henry V right now, but I'm sure that'll come.

My Boromir action figure has tipped over behind my desk, and I had to rescue him and brush the cobwebs off. He's darker-haired in his action figure than he was in the movie. I hopehopehope Faramir is up to filling his hottie shoes, but I don't know - I have a thing for Sean Bean that may be difficult to replace.

Damnit, I can't wait for December to get here!

Hungry - going to go nuke my little tv dinner and have lunch.

12:18 p.m. - 2002-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce