Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mooo...aaaaak

Spent Saturday at Eastern Market with Persia, Cherbear, Special K, and the Bemo, eating really yummy pasta salad, tasting all the free samples of fruit put out by the produce vendors, mourning the fact that my particular pottery vendor wasn't there and thus I couldn't buy my bowl, blissfully eating Ben & Jerry's, and rounding out the day with a trip to a used bookstore that was a massive firetrap but fun to prowl through anyway. I ended up with two books, both of which I had been wanting for a while. One was interesting (although Ian Pears doesn't much like the cheeful when he's not writing his art history mysteries, so Dream of Scipio was definitely a downer) and one was just meh. Tulip Feverpromised to be this interesting romance set in seventeenth-century Amsterdam, among the tulip frenzy, but it turned out to be a really predictable, under-characterized, adultery story where I really didn't care about any of the characters. I'll be reselling it at the used bookstore, although if it's anybody's mostest favorite book ever and they need a copy of it or something, let me know. I'd be glad to get it off my hands.

Currently reading Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlossen, and am, like most people who've read it, appalled by vast chunks of the book. Not sure what to do about it. I amused myself by getting hamburgers yesterday, but note - I hadn't yet reached the meatpacking section, and I also bought from Five Guys, who are not McDonalds or Wendies or Jack in the Box (not that we have those here). I may, of course, be deluding myself. I'm not quite ready yet to give it all up and become a vegetarian, but I wonder if you can have your own ground beef done up at the grocery? (Or is it already like that?)

So at any rate, America is scary, and I may be living on raw carrots from here on out. Although it's also possible that I will shove this firmly to the back of my mind and not change my diet all that much - it depends on whether or not the author gives some practical tips about steps to take. And, um, how grossed out I am the next time I find myself in the McDonalds line and remember a passage from the book.

1:02 p.m. - 2004-07-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce