Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You want me to do *what* with those testicles?

Memo to self: when you know your readership consists of severely deranged people, it's best not to end a mildly angsty piece of self-psychology with a testicle joke. It only encourages them. For confirmation of this fact, please see my guestbook, and note the entry about the slingshot. Although I have to admit it did give me a few ideas about how to handle a particularly bitchy curator who was getting up my nose all of yesterday...Also awarded points was my little sister, who wanted to know if sanitized for my protection meant that the borrowed set of balls would come with a little band around them and a delightful lemon scent.

In other news, I think I may have to invest in wolf-proof underwear, because judging by this frosty weather, they're going to be crossing the frozen Potomac soon. I may even need to buy a sleigh so I can sit in it and drink vodka as Bemo whips the horses, screaming, "Faster, faster, the hounds of Satan are almost upon us!" Or maybe I should just buy more long johns and wooly socks. Either is a valid option.

The morning has been spent working with some stray rugs that have been tucked away in our basement storage area for some time. They're dusty (and in one case, very mouldy) and we've been vaccumning, photographing, catalouging, and rerolling them, which has not been a treat. My hands were covered with fine grey dust, and after a while your eyes and throat feel clogged with it. But it's nice to see them all tidied away, and tagged, and the mouldy one will be stored seperately so it doesn't infect the rest of them.

Boop has provided a rather nice alternative to my meals problem. When I get home at night, the last thing I feel like is cooking, so she suggested that since she's learning to cook and very interested in it, that I come over with a stash of groceries once a week and cook there, piling away several dishes in tupperware to freeze or keep in the fridge for a day or two. That way Bemo and I could eat a bit healthier, and I wouldn't be standing blearily in the kitchen at seven, wondering if I couldn't just make Hamburger Helper again tonight. We'll see how it goes, but I'm pretty psyched about the whole concept. If anybody has any basic dishes that work well as leftovers and freezer food, please share - they don't have to all be profoundly healthy for one but I suppose bonus points would be awarded for meals that don't contribute to the growth of my behind but which also don't require one to eat like a gerbil.

And by the way, YAY! New Harry Potter soon. This will be a good year - new George R.R. Martin, new Harry Potter, new Kadge Baker, and at the end of the year, Return of the King. Booyah!

12:38 p.m. - 2003-01-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce